District Profile

North Carolina's Tenth Congressional District

To view a map of North Carolina's 10th District, click here.

North Carolina’s Tenth Congressional District stretches from the Appalachian mountains to the suburbs of Charlotte and encompasses some of the most breathtaking scenery America has to offer. From Lake James to Lake Norman, the Tenth District is truly the heart of North Carolina.

The district borders the state’s largest major metropolitan region (Charlotte) and encompasses most of the Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton MSA, but also has an abundance of small-towns. While traditional manufacturing industries such as furniture and textiles are still major employers, the district has embraced the tech economy. Large data centers for companies such as Apple and Facebook call the Tenth District home, and high-tech manufacturing of fiber optic cable and other components is a significant source of employment. Motorsports are a major player if you are in Mooresville in southern Iredell County, where several race teams and related industries are located.

Education and workforce training are keys to the region’s success. Tenth District residents have their choice of six community colleges, Lenoir-Rhyne University, Gardner-Webb University and Appalachian State University’s new Hickory campus. Many other state and private institutions of higher learning are nearby. The North Carolina School of Science and Math recently opened a new campus in Morganton.

Abundant lakes for watersports, great hiking and biking opportunities, golfing, and nearby snow skiing resorts offer a range of outdoor activities that draw young and old alike. Minor League Baseball, the American Legion World Series, and a wide array of cultural activities such as symphonies, community theaters, concerts, festivals, and museums make for an unparalleled quality of life. Agriculture is an important part of the economy and many farmers markets throughout the district give easy access to local produce.

You will discover things in the Tenth District that you can find nowhere else in the world, like the iconic Table Rock, the dramatic vistas of the Appalachian and South Mountains, unusual pottery in the Catawba Valley (some even have faces!), and some of the nation’s most celebrated barbecue restaurants. The Earl Scruggs Center and the Don Gibson Theater are wonderful venues to explore the history of country music and attend concerts by both established and up-and-coming artists.

Explore the links below to learn more about the nine counties that comprise North Carolina’s Tenth Congressional District: