Press Release

McHenry Applauds Two Tenth District Schools For Being Recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools

Two Tenth District schools, Elkin Middle School in Surry County and Union Elementary School in Lincoln County, have been recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools.

Only 325 public and private schools across the country were recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2021. These schools are recognized for their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student groups, demonstrating that all students can achieve to high level. 

"Our schools in the Tenth District rise to the incredible challenge of preparing our children for success every day," said Congressman McHenry. "It is great to see that Elkin Middle and Union Elementary have been recognized for their accomplishments in meeting that challenge. I am grateful to all of the teachers, administrators, and staff for their dedication to students in the Tenth District."

Background: Throughout its 39 year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has affirmed the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content. The award flag gracing a school’s building has been widely recognized by everyone – from parents to policymakers –as a symbol of exemplary teaching and learning. To date, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed more than 10,000 awards to over 9,000 schools, with some schools winning multiple awards. This year’s awardees will be eligible again for nomination in five years.

The 2021 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools will be formally recognized at an awards ceremony on November 4th and November 5th in Washington, DC.  At the ceremony, each school will be presented with an award plaque and a flag as symbols of their accomplishments.

Click here to learn more about Elkin Middle School.

Click here to learn more about Union Elementary School.